Tutoring email: Tutoring tel:

About Me

With several hundred hours of both one-on-one tutoring experience and classroom instruction experience from the elementary to college level as well as a solid background in everything from academic writing to advanced mathematics, I am equipped to help students succeed in almost every area with which they might need further assistance. As a tutor, I strive to not only help students excel on assignments and tests to raise their grades, but to instill an approach to learning that raises self-confidence and enables the student to solve new problems using their own strengths. In the past several years, I have had extended experience working with students diagnosed with various learning disabilities including dyslexia and ADHD as well as select opportunities to work with students on the autistic spectrum.

Tutoring Experience By Subject
Specialized Subjects
Algebra Geometry
Calculus Physics
Chemistry Pre-Calculus
College Essays Research Projects
English SAT/ACT Test Prep
Additional Subjects
American History Latin
Biology Philosophy
European History Spanish
Geography Texas History
Geology World History

My Experience

I primarily work as a 'comprehensive tutor' that is able to help in all core subjects as well as give study help in additional areas. I specialize in tutoring high school-level Math, Science, and English, but have had extensive experience working with students on a much wider set of subjects. By building long-term relationships with students, I am able to understand what type of help they best need from week to week and at different times of the school year. This allows me to prepare myself to assist in a very productive way even with work for courses that I have not previously tutored. The table above is a brief account of the subjects I have had substantial experience in tutoring.

For a more detailed account of my current and past teaching positions, please visit: davidafeil.com/educator.php

My Education & Qualifications

Institution Years Attended Degree/Certificate
Rice University 2001-2005B.A. in English
IES Vienna2003-2004Study Abroad
Universität Wien Spring 2004Certificate in Latin
Sigurður Nordal Institute Summer 2004Certificate in Icelandic
CCFS-Sorbonne Fall 2006Certificate in French
New York University 2007-2009M.A. in English
Test Year Score
GRE General Test2006Verbal: 790
Math: 800
GRE Subject Test: Literature2006680
GRE Subject Test: Mathematics2011650
Academic Honors
Honor Year Received Merit
National AP Scholar Award2001An average grade of 4 or higher on all AP Exams taken and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams
National Merit Finalist2001Among top 15,000 students in the country for PSAT and SAT score results as a high school junior/senior
Lady Geddes Prize2003Top critical writing by an underclassman at Rice University
David L. Minter Prize2005Top English Department graduate at Rice University
Magna Cum Laude2005Grade point average within the top 15% of graduating class at Rice University

Services & Policies

I offer one-on-one in-home tutoring in the Houston area (within the I-610 loop) in the afternoons and evenings Sunday through Thursday. Sessions are best scheduled several days in advance, though flexibility for last-minute sessions can be available by inquiry.

  1. The minimum length of a session is 60 minutes
  2. Cancellations made without 24-hour notice will be billed for the minimum amount (60 minutes)
  3. Sessions located outside the I-610 loop and Saturday sessions, if available, will incur a nominal $10 fee per visit

Rate Schedule & Availability

Type of Session Duration Rate
Regular student session 60-75 minutes $85
SAT/PSAT/GRE test-preparation session 120-150 minutes $250

My approach as a tutor is best-suited towards building a long-term relationship with the student and being able to observe and guide their development throughout the school year. For this reason, a preferred rate is offered for frequently engaged students as seen in the rate schedule above.

Typical sessions are aimed at lasting 60 minutes, though it is often the case that 10 or 15 more minutes are needed to best wrap up the work at hand. In light of this, the same flat rate is charged for up to 75 minutes. When extended sessions are necessary and planned for ahead of time, an hourly rate of $85/hr is applied.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
11 a.m.
12 p.m.
1 p.m.
2 p.m.
3 p.m.
4 p.m.
5 p.m.
6 p.m.
7 p.m.
8 p.m.
9 p.m.
Last updated Wednesday, November 20, 2013

The chart above is updated on a weekly basis, but is meant to give a general idea of the times during which I am consistently unavailable due to regular appointments with long-term students and times which are generally free for new students or short-term engagements. Please call or email to inquire about specific dates and times.


Please call or email to set up a session or for more information about my services. I understand that finding a new tutor that is a good match can be a frustrating process and am happy to do whatever I can to answer questions to ensure that I will in fact be a good fit or to make recommendations if it does not appear that I am the right match for you or your child. If you are leaving a voicemail message or sending an email, please be sure to include the student's grade level and what type of assistance they might need. Because I am with students most afternoons and evenings, I will do my best to be reachable by phone until 10pm, but depending on the time, I might not be able to return a late call until the following day.

email Tutoring